PDA

View Full Version : Self-publishing software and games

edg3
02-02-2012, 02:56 PM
So, I suppose this would be one of the ideal places to post this and get some feedback, but I'm looking for advice for self-publishing your own software and games, I'm specifically looking around at ways that this can be properly monetised and hopefully become successful. To start off I know that this kind of discussion is very context sensitive, but self-publishing is its own logistical nightmare, so I figured tackling self-publishing with regards to software and games as a start.

I will give a more precise scenario at the end of the post, but first let me clarify a few things. Publishing in this sense follows the same major fundamentals as all other publishing, but the major problem comes in with the startup capital, and until I have a clearer strategy that will work I'm hesitant to sacrifice the petrol money I work for (I'm a student), and equally hesitant to try using services such as KickStarter.

So the advice Im looking for is in these 2 categories of the publishing specifically, but all publishing help is useful:

Marketing
Advertising

Specifically, when you see software or games being sold by companies that have yet to build a client-base and decent portfolio what things make you rather avoid them? And what things work to grab your attention? Unfortunately I don't have a lot of funds to work with for advertising, but if I did, what advertising (if any) managed to grab your attention and drive you to testing products?

As for the scenario, I am looking at Windows, and Windows Phone 7 based applications and games currently (the framework I am most familiar with only works on Windows, Windows Phone 7 and the Xbox 360). Should the products become popular enough I would then invest the time into porting to iOS and Linux, but for now Im keeping my target market list small. I have already tried the following: