These are the parties that will make up South Africa’s 6th Parliament

 ·12 May 2019

South African MPs will be welcoming a few new faces to parliament this year, with three new parties gaining a seat at the table after the 2019 national election.

Parliament has 400 seats, which are doled out proportionally to the parties who earned the highest number of votes in a national election.

In South Africa’s sixth Parliament, 14 parties will be represented.

The ANC has dominated Parliament since it rose to power after the 1994 elections but has now dropped below 60% for the first time.

With a support base of 57.5%, the ANC has lost 19 seats in Parliament, now commanding 230 positions. This puts the party 35 seats short of a two-thirds majority.

The ANC was not the only party to lose out, with the DA also slipping in numbers. The DA had 89 seats in the previous Parliament and has lost five of those (for a total of 84).

The biggest winner is the EFF, who added 19 seats, taking its total to 44.

The IFP and Freedom Front Plus both saw a significant rise in support in the elections, and have been given more seats.

The IFP gained four seats (14 total) while the FF+ gained six seats (10 total).

The ACDP gained one seat (four total), while the UDM lost two seats (two total). The PAC maintained its single seat.

Three new parties will be joining Parliament, two of which made their debuts in the 2019 elections.

Patricia de Lille’s GOOD party secured enough of the vote for two seats, while Mzwanele Manyi’s ATM party also secured two seats.

The third party, Al Jama-ah, secured one seat.


Read: South African national election 2019 final results

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter