These 44 roads in Ekurhuleni are getting a name change – what you need to know

 ·13 Oct 2021

The City of Ekurhuleni is making 44 name changes to roads in the metro, among other renaming efforts for theatres, clinics and precincts.

The name changes were first proposed in February 2019 and approved by the city council in September of the same year. The office of the executive mayor confirmed that the replacement of the physical signage for the roads is now taking place and will be an ongoing project.

In a statement on Tuesday (12 October), the city said that the names change form part of a two-year process undertaken by the African National Congress (ANC) led coalition in Ekurhuleni, which included extensive public consultation and numerous legislative approvals.

Among the high profile name changes are:

  • Gillooly’s Interchange (N12) which will now be known as George Bizos Interchange;
  • Van Buuren (N3) which will now be known as Thabo Mbeki Road;
  • Ollifantsfontein (R562) which will now be known as Winnie Madikizela-Mandela Drive;
  • Alberton (N12/N17) will be renamed Chris Hani Road.

“The overarching objective of the ANC is to build a national democratic society that recognises and celebrates the heroes and heroines of South Africa who embody the ideals of social justice and equality,” said Ekurhuleni mayor Mzwandile Masina.

“Street names and the names of landmarks symbolise the identity and character of our city. Critics may accuse the city of wasting public funds with the name changes. However, we believe, with great conviction, that future generations of South Africans must grow up in an inclusive environment that celebrates the best of humanity and recognises personal sacrifice in the name of justice as an epithet for remembrance.”

The full list of name changes can be found below.

Current name To be renamed as
Kingsway Library Lawrence Bongani Sibanyoni Library
Villa Liza Clinic Chris Hani Clinic
New Germiston Theatre Dumi Masilela Theatre
The Springs Fresh Produce Market Ekurhuleni Fresh Produce Market
The Vooslorus Cemetery Isaac Scoot Nyashego
Springs Theatre Ken Gampu Theatre
New Tsakane Library Mpho Rahab Molepo Library
Germiston Government Precinct OR Tambo Government Precinct
R59 (N12) Abram Moroe
Tom Jones Road (N12) Amina Cachalia
Voortrekker Road (Kempton Park – R21) Amon Ngulele
M2/Germiston – Geldenhuys Interchange (N3) Bavumile Vilakazi
Alberton (N12/N17) Chris Hani
Rietfontein Road (N12) Chris Dlamini
Putfontein Road (N12) Cleoupas Nsibanda
Tonk Meter Road (N17) Congress Skhumbuzo Mtsweni
Heidelberg Road David Bopape
Swaartkoppies Road (R59/Alberton South) Ali Maziya
Leondale/Spruitview(N3) Elliot Sogoni
Rand Airport Fanyana Banda
Gilloolys Interchange (N12) George Bizos
Barry Marais (N3) George Makhubela
Exit Route: Heidelberg Road Grace Flathela
Osborne Road (N17) Johnson Nonjeke
Griffiths Road (R21) Joseph Tate Kagarose
Denne Road/Goods Road Kunyamane Ranyaoa
Barbara Road (R24) Lazarus Mawela
Linksfield Road (N3) Lethabo Malatjie
Edenvale (N12) Lungile Mtshali
Edenvale (R24)/Van Riebeeck Lungile Mtshali
Ergo Road (N17)/Eleventh Road Margaret Gazo
Snake Road (N12) Mary Moodley
Michelle Ave – Meyersdal (R59/Alberton South) Nelson Mandela
Nigel Road (N17)/Wit Road Ngungunyane Mashabane
Kraft Road (N12) Ntemi Ncwane
Etwatwa (N12) Oscar Mabika
Alberton (N3) Paul Sehlogo
Atlas Road (N12) Solomon Jefferson Mahlangu
Pomona (R21) Petrus “Chilly” Magagula S32
Jones Road (R21/R24) Walter Sisulu
Daveyton (Kingsway Road) (N12) Richard Mhlongo
Holfontein/Pansy Road (N12) Salvation Motshweni
Kliprivier R550 (R59/Alberton South) Sam Ntuli
Wits Rifles Road (N17) Sam Sidu
Bronkhorspruit Road (R25 /R21) Sarah Mnyele
Atlas Road (R21) Solomon Jefferson Mahlangu
Jet Park Road (N12) Sthembiso Clarence Lukhele
Van Buuren (N3) Thabo Mbeki
Rondebult (Boksburg) Thomas Nkobi
Grey Avenue (N3) Vuyisile Bixa
Benoni Road (R21/R23) Willie Oupa Lukhele
R562 Olifantsfontein Winnie Madikizela-Mandela

Read: Semigration is creating a hidden tax problem in South Africa

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter