DA officially joins the ANC in forming new government

 ·14 Jun 2024

South Africa’s second largest political party, the Democratic Alliance (DA), has officially announced that it will be joining the African National Congress (ANC), Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) and Patriotic Alliance (PA) in forming part of a Government of National Unity (GNU)

During a media briefing at the first sitting of the National Assembly (NA) on Friday, June 14th, DA leader John Steenhuisen announced that the DA had signed a framework agreement, alongside other parties, to form part of the GNU, following intense negotiations that concluded after the parliamentary sitting began.

This means that the ANC, DA, IFP and PA, who constitute a combined 272 out of the 400 seats in Parliament (excluding other ‘smaller’ parties expected to form part of the GNU but not yet confirmed), are expected to vote together for the positions of President, speaker and deputy speaker of the NA on Friday.

The DA leader said that ANC President Cyril Ramaphosa will be nominated and voted for as President in the first sitting of the NA today.

ANC MP Thoko Didiza has been nominated for speaker, which is also expected to be backed by the ANC, DA, IFP and PA (among other parties). Didiza is up against EFF’s Veronica Mente.

In the GNU, parties are expected to be allotted Cabinet positions, legislative roles, and other significant appointments in alignment with the percentage of votes they received.

The signed agreement by the parties, which is promised to be made public soon, is said to outline the executive decision-making process, a conflict resolution mechanism, and provides guidelines for policymaking and finalising the national budget.

Read: What big business wants to see from South Africa’s new government – and the thing they fear most

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter