South Africans can visit these 102 countries visa-free right now

 ·23 May 2018

Immigration consultants Henley & Partners has released its Passport Index for the second quarter of 2018, showing which global passports are the strongest in the world, in terms of the access they grant to other countries without the need for a visa.

According to the Index, Japan has consolidated its spot at the top of the rankings, now offering its citizens visa-free access to a record total of 189 destinations.

Following closely behind Japan are Singapore and Germany in joint second place. Third place is shared by six countries: one Asian (South Korea) and the rest European (Finland, France, Italy, Spain and Sweden).

Dr. Christian H. Kälin, group chairman of Henley & Partners, said the index is the most robust in the world, surveying a total of 199 different passports against 227 different travel destinations, including countries, territories and micro-states.

South Africa ranks 50th overall, improving its position with visa-free or visa-on-arrival access to 102 countries – up from 98 in 2017, where the passport ranked 55th.

Regionally, South Africa ranked third in Africa, below Mauritius (28th overall, with visa-free access to 145 countries) and the Seychelles (24th overall, with visa-free access to 154 countries).

These are the countries South African passport holders can access without a visa:

Visa-free entry
Hong Kong Mozambique British Virgin Islands Costa Rica
Indonesia Namibia Cayman Islands Ecuador
Macao Reunion Dominica El Salvador
Malaysia Senegal Dominican Republic Falkland Islands
Philippines Swaziland Grenada Guatemala
Singapore Tanzania Haiti Guyana
South Korea Tunisia Jamaica Honduras
Thailand Zambia Montserrat Nicaragua
Ireland Zimbabwe St Kitts and Nevis Panama
Kosovo Cook Islands St Lucia Paraguay
Russia Fiji St Vincent and Grenadines Peru
Angola Micronesia Trinidad and Tobago Uruguay
Botswana Niue Turks and Caicos Islands Venezuela
Kenya Vanuatu Argentina Georgia
Lesotho Antigua and Barbuda Belize Israel
Malawi Bahamas Brazil Palestine
Mauritius Barbados Chile Qatar

Visa on entry
Cambodia Cape Verde Rwanda Tuvalu
Kyrgystan Comores Seychelles Bolivia
Laos Dijbouti Somalia Armenia
Maldives Ethiopia St Helena Iran
Nepal Gabon Togo Jordan
Sri Lanka Ghana Uganda Oman
Tajikstan Guinea-Bissau Marshall Islands Turkey
Timor-Leste Madagascar Palau Islands
Benin Mauritius Samoa

Read: These are the best passports to own in 2018 – including South Africa

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter