The list of ANC members who said Zuma owes nothing for Nkandla

Several Sunday newspapers published an articles explaining how ANC MPs feel betrayed by president Jacob Zuma over Nkandla.

The Sunday Times said that the president angered senior figures in the ANC after ignoring advice from its national executive committee to take the public protector’s Nkandla report on judicial review.

Zuma’s advocate, Jeremy Gauntlett, conceded in the Constitutional Court last week, that a report by Public Protector Thuli Madonsela recommending that the president pay back a portion of R246 million spent on upgrades to his homestead in KwaZulu-Natal, was binding and the president would pay back some of the money.

In October, IOL published a list of the ANC members who voted to adopt a report by Police Minister Nathi Nhleko, which cleared Zuma of any liability for Nkandla.

It noted that 199 members of the ANC voted in favour of accepting Nhleko’s report, while 92 MPs, all from the opposition, voted against the the report.

Just over 100 members of the 400-member National Assembly did not vote.

The City Press last week reported members as being “pissed off – all of them” – feeling like they had been thrown under the bus on the Nkandla matter. “People are feeling used and abused,” a senior ANC member told the paper, after Nhleko’s report was disregarded in court.

Those who originally voted in favour of Nhleko’s report include:

  • Cyril Ramaphosa – Deputy President
  • Phumelele Sizani – Chief Whip
  • Lynette Brown – Minister of Public Enterprise
  • Fikile Mbalula – Minister of Sports
  • Derek André Hanekom – Minister of Tourism
  • Lindiwe Nonceba Sisulu – Human Settlements Minister
  • Blade Nzimande – Minister for Higher Education
  • Robert Davies – Trade and Industry Minister
  • Susan Shabangu – Minister of Women in the Presidency
  • Ebrahim Patel – Minister of Economic Development
  • Elizabeth Dipuo Peters – Minister of Transport
  • Mildred Nelisiwe Oliphant  – Minister of Labour
  • Pakishe Aaron MotsoalediMinister of Health
  • Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor – Science and Technology Minister
  • Azwihangwisi Faith Muthambi – Communications minister
  • Mbangiseni David MahloboMinister of State Security

Nhlanhla Nene, the former minister of finance, now infamous due to his sacking by the president late last year, also said yes to the report.

IOL pointed out that highly respected politician, Paul Mashatile did not say ‘yes’ to the report’.

Mashatile recently resigned as an MP to join forces with Gauteng premier, David Makhura, as the new MEC for Human Settlements and Cooperative Governance.

ANC MPs are expected to vent their anger toward Zuma at caucus meeting next Thursday, where they will raise the issue.

Last week, Zuma said that paying back a portion of the money for Nkandla, was not an admission of guilt.

“There are many times when I asked how much I must pay back, but no one knows. There was a political perception I am not going to pay. Paying that money is not admitting anything wrong.”

More on Nkandla

Zuma an easy target for impeachment say ANC MPs: report

Paying back the money is not an admission of guilt: Zuma

Zuma abused public resources ‘on an extraordinary scale’

Zuma’s personal interests come before the ANC: analyst

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

The list of ANC members who said Zuma owes nothing for Nkandla