These are South Africa’s 45 Blue Flag beaches for 2019

 ·26 Oct 2019

The Wildlife & Environment Society of South Africa (WESSA) has announced that 64 Blue Flags will be flown at 45 beaches, nine marinas and by 10 sustainable tourism boats around South Africa over the forthcoming 2018/19 Blue Flag season.

Now in its 32nd year, the Blue Flag programme is focused on the conservation of marine and coastal habitats, and is designed to raise environmental education and awareness, and increase sound environmental practices among tourists, local populations and beach management.

To achieve Blue Flag status, as many as 33 different criteria spanning four aspects of coastal management must be met and maintained: water quality, environmental education and information, environmental management, and safety and services.

Each Blue Flag site is compelled to conduct several environmental education activities during the year, and practise effective and efficient conservation management.

In 2018/19, the Western Cape achieved the highest number of Blue Flag sites, with 33 beaches, 10 boats and seven of the nine Blue Flag marinas.

The Eastern Cape was awarded two Blue Flag Marina sites, as well as six beaches, while Kwa-Zulu Natal was awarded six Blue Flag beaches.

The Blue Flag season officially opens on 1 November 2019.

You can find the full list of Blue Flag beaches detailed below.

Western Cape

Beach Region Municipality
Silwerstroomstrand Western Cape City of Cape Town
Clifton 4th Western Cape City of Cape Town
Camps Bay Western Cape City of Cape Town
Llandudno Western Cape City of Cape Town
Muizenberg Western Cape City of Cape Town
Strandfontein Western Cape City of Cape Town
Mnandi Western Cape City of Cape Town
Bikini Western Cape City of Cape Town
Melkbosstrand Western Cape City of Cape Town
FishHoek Western Cape City of Cape Town
Kleinmond Western Cape Overstrand
Hawston Western Cape Overstrand
Grotto Western Cape Overstrand
Castle Beach Western Cape Overstrand
Struisbaai Western Cape Cape Agulhas
Witsand Western Cape Hessequa
Preekstoel Western Cape Hessequa
Lappiesbaai Western Cape Hessequa
Jongensfontein Western Cape Hessequa
Gouritzmond Western Cape Hessequa
Stilbaai Wes Western Cape Hessequa
De Bakke Western Cape Mossel Bay
Hartenbos Western Cape Mossel Bay
Klein Brak Western Cape Mossel Bay
Santos Western Cape Mossel Bay
Glentana Western Cape Mossel Bay
Brenton-on-sea Western Cape Knysna
Robberg 5 Western Cape Bitou
Keurboomstrand Western Cape Bitou
Nature’s Valley Western Cape Bitou
Lookout Western Cape Bitou
The Dunes Western Cape Bitou
Singing Kettle Western Cape Bitou


Beach Region Municipality
Marina KwaZulu-Natal Ray Nkonyeni
Trafalgar KwaZulu-Natal Ray Nkonyeni
Southport KwaZulu-Natal Ray Nkonyeni
Umzumbe KwaZulu-Natal Ray Nkonyeni
Hibberdene KwaZulu-Natal Ray Nkonyeni
Ushaka KwaZulu-Natal Ray Nkonyeni

Eastern Cape

Beach Region Municipality
Dolphin Eastern Cape Kouga
Kings Eastern Cape Nelson Mandela Bay Metro
Humewood Eastern Cape Nelson Mandela Bay Metro
Hobie Eastern Cape Nelson Mandela Bay Metro
Kariega Eastern Cape Ndlambe
Kelly’s Eastern Cape Ndlambe

Read: A look at Durban’s new R380 million promenade upgrade

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter