Interim SABC board makes shortlist for permanent board, but no Zikalala

The five members of the SABC interim board have made the shortlist of 36 for the permanent board.

Initially the African National Congress nominated controversial former head of SABC news Snuki Zikalala, but when they presented a whittled down list, his name was removed.

Former ANC Youth League leader Ronald Lamola was still on their list.

The portfolio committee on communications on Tuesday decided if two or more parties nominate the same candidate, that person would make the shortlist that will be interviewed in September.

When the committee adjourned for lunch, 20 of the 36 spots on the shortlist were filled.

Apart from the interim board – chairperson Khanyisile Kweyama, her deputy Mathatha Tsedu, Krish Naidoo, John Matisson and Febe Potgieter-Gqubule – Nomvuyo Batyi, currently a board member of the Independent Communications Authority of SA (Icasa) – received unanimous support.

Former SABC board member Rachel Kalidass were nominated by all parties present except the Economic Freedom Fighters.

The other candidates who received support from more than one party and are thus on the list, are:

  • Thabiso Andrew Ramotso;
  • Kharidza Dzuguda Rufus;
  • Michael Grant Markovitz;
  • Willie Currie;
  • Leanne Govindsamy;
  • Deenadaylen Konar;
  • Harriet Meier;
  • Dawn Earp;
  • Michael Bauer;
  • Judge Christopher Greenland;
  • Desmond Golding;
  • Mathumo Manaka; and
  • Victor Rambau.

The committee will continue its deliberations later on Tuesday.



Read: Shortlisting of permanent SABC board candidates to begin

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Interim SABC board makes shortlist for permanent board, but no Zikalala