Zuma splits Icasa between Muthambi and Cwele

President Jacob Zuma issued a proclamation on Tuesday, 2 December 2014, which split the ministerial responsibilities over the Independent Communications Authority of South Africa (Icasa) between two government departments.

Previously Icasa fell under the new Ministry of Communications, headed up by Faith Muthambi, which was formed after Zuma was re-elected in May 2014.

The ministry was created by splitting a number of functions and distributing some to the Ministry of Telecommunications and Postal Services, where Siyabonga Cwele is the minister.

Zuma’s decision to split the former Communications Ministry into two separate departments was a controversial one, with questions raised over the initial decision to have Icasa report to Muthambi.

According to the Presidential proclamation, Icasa’s functions relating to broadcasting stay with Muthambi, while telecommunications and postal functions are transferred to Cwele.

Some of Icasa’s responsibilities include making recommendations to the relevant minister on policy matters and amendments to applicable legislation.

These responsibilities are split as follows:

  • Communications (Muthambi) – Independent Communications Authority of South Africa Act 2000 and Broadcasting Act 1999;
  • TPS (Cwele) – Electronic Communications Act 2005 and Postal Services Act 1998.

More on Icasa

Icasa publishes mobile broadband ‘roadmap’

Icasa settles on new termination rates

Icasa sets new termination rate cost model

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Zuma splits Icasa between Muthambi and Cwele