SABC board members approved

Acting President Kgalema Motlanthe has appointed a new SABC board following last week’s endorsement of nominations by the National Assembly.

The 12 new board members are Ellen Zandile Tshabalala, Noluthando Primrose Gosa, Ronnie Lubisi, Vusumusi Mavuso, Thembinkosi Bonakele, Rachel Kalidass, Bongani Khumalo, Hope Zinde, Mbulaheni Obert Maguvhe, Krish Naidoo, Nomvuyo Mhlakaza, and Aaron Tshidzumba.

“Acting President Motlanthe congratulated all the new members of the SABC board and wished them well in the new endeavours,” the presidency said.

Tshabalala is chairwoman of the interim SABC board, whose term expires at month end. Gosa is her deputy.

Parliament dissolved the broadcaster’s board earlier this year after infighting prompted all but one member to resign.

The portfolio committee on communications had a tight deadline to appoint a new board for the embattled public broadcaster, and last week named 12 candidates.

The nominations were approved by the ANC majority in the National Assembly but rejected by opposition parties.

The Democratic Alliance said the list of names differed from those agreed on in the committee and expressed doubt that the new board would prove capable.

DA MP Marian Shinn said Parliament had been presented with an opportunity to select a new board that would steer the SABC to calmer waters.

Instead the African National Congress’s majority on the committee chose to select candidates on the basis of party political loyalties.

It will be the SABC’s fourth board since 2009.

More on the SABC

Politics muddies up SABC board nominations: report

SABC corruption investigation shock

SABC unions head to the CCMA

Carrim establishes SABC task team

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

SABC board members approved