Telkom appoints group secretary

Telkom has announced the appointment Xoliswa Makasi as group company secretary with effect from 18 March 2013.

Makasi takes over from Andisa Ditle, who had been appointed acting company secretary since November 2012.

Telkom is yet to appoint a new CEO after current head, Nombulelo Moholi announced her resignation in November 2012 and is set to leave the company in April 2013.

“The Board has embarked on a process to identify and appoint a suitable candidate to take over from Ms Moholi as GCEO. The Board will make an announcement in this regard when it is appropriate to do so.”

Telkom noted that Makasi has extensive experience in the roles of compliance, legal advisory and company secretary for listed companies.

She holds a Dip Iuris, (University of the Western Cape, 1987) and a B Proc, (University of the Western Cape, 1989). She is a member of the Institute of Directors, Corporate Lawyers Association of South Africa (CLASA) and a member of the Company Secretaries Interest Group (CSIG), the group said.

The Department of Communications confirmed in September that a shortlist of three strategic options for Telkom had been presented to cabinet, to drive the company forward.

These options however, were sent back to the DoC following the appointment of a number of new Board members including chairman, Jabu Mabuza.

In December, the group announced the appointment of five business leaders as independent non-executive members of the company’s board.

This meant that the group had a board of 14 members, enabling it to fill vacancies on board committees and to focus on the recruitment of a new group chief executive officer.

Shares in Telkom have continued to slide in 2013, hovering just above R15 on the JSE in early trade on Thursday (7 March).

More on Telkom

Telkom consolidates below R15

Government must sell Telkom: DA

Telkom appoints new board members

Pule and Telkom board meet

Telkom appoints chairman

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Telkom appoints group secretary