Have you ever owned one of these? South Africa’s car of the year since 1986

The 2018 WesBank SA Car of the Year was revealed at a gala event in Gauteng on Tuesday evening.

The competition comprised 10 finalists, following a vote by members of the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists (SAGMJ), which had previously identified 21 semi-finalists.

The Porsche Panamera was announced as the overall winner, beating the Volvo S90 into second place, while the Alfa Romeo Giulia placed third.

The SAGMJ has run the South African Car Of The Year competition since 1986, with WesBank as its headline sponsor since inception.

In recent years, the competition has had many historic moments, including 2012 when Hyundai Automotive SA won the title for the first time in its history and became the first Korean vehicle brand to win.

In 2011, the competition caused an even bigger stir when, for the first time in history, the BMW 530d and Volkswagen Polo 1.6 TDI shared the crown. And in 2015, the Porsche Macan became the first SUV to win the COTY contest.

BMW has won the SA Car Of The Year title a record six times (1988, 1990, 1993, 1997, 2001 and 2011). Opel is the only manufacturer to have won the title for two consecutive years, and has ultimately won the competition four times. Audi and Volkswagen have each won three times, while Honda, Renault, Toyota and Volvo have won twice.

Previous winners of the WesBank South African Car Of The Year competition:

The Toyota Corolla Twin Cam won the inaugural event in 1986, followed by Mercedes-Benz 260E in 1987, the BMW 735i in 1988, and the Toyota Corolla GLi Executive in 1989.

Year Car Model
1990 BMW 525i
1991 Opel Monza 160 GSi
1992 Nissan Maxima 300 SE
1993 BMW 316i
1994 Opel Kadett 140
1995 Opel Astra  160iS
1996 Audi A4 1.8
1997 BMW 528i
1998 Ford Fiesta Fun
1999 Alfa Romeo 156 T-Spark
Year Car Model
2000 Renault Clio 1.4 RT
2001 BMW BMW 320d
2002 Audi A4 1.9 TDI
2003 Volkswagen Polo TDI
2004 Renault Mégane 1.9 dCi
2005 Volvo S40  2.4i
2006 Audi A3 Sportback 2.0T
2007 Honda Civic 1.8 VXi Sedan
2008 Mazda2  1.5 Individual
2009 Honda Accord 2.4 Executive
Year Car Model
2010 Volkswagen Golf 6 1.4 TSI
2011 BMW and Volkswagen Polo 530d and 1.6 TDI
2012 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 GLS Executive
2013 Porsche Boxster
2014 Porsche Cayman S
2015 Porsche Macan Diesel S
2016 Volvo XC90
2017 Opel Astra
2018 Porsche Panamera

Read: The 5 most popular car brands in South Africa right now

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Have you ever owned one of these? South Africa’s car of the year since 1986