Kganyago reappointed as Reserve Bank governor

President Cyril Ramaphosa has re-appointed Lesetja Kganyago as governor of the South African Reserve Bank (SARB) for a five-year term

The president also announced the appointment of Nomfundo (Fundi) Tshazibana and Dr Rashad Cassim as deputy governors.

The two positions of deputy governor became vacant following the resignation of Francois Groepe in January 2019 and, more recently, the retirement of Daniel Mminele at the end of June 2019..

Tshazibana is currently serving as an adviser to the Governors of the SARB and is a member of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

Cassim is currently Head of Economic Research and Statistics since March 2011 and is also a member of the MPC.

Kganyago’s second term will start on 9 November 2019, while Tshazibana and Cassim will assume duty on 1 August 2019.

Read: Ramaphosa’s honeymoon is officially over

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Kganyago reappointed as Reserve Bank governor