South Africa’s President, Speaker and Deputy Speaker elected in GNU clean sweep

 ·14 Jun 2024

Cyril Ramaphosa, the leader of the African National Congress (ANC), has been re-elected President of South Africa for the country’s seventh democratic administration.

Additionally, ANC’s Angela Thokozile “Thoko” Didiza has assumed the role of Speaker of the National Assembly (Parliament), with Dr Annelie Lotriet from the Democratic Alliance (DA) elected as Deputy Speaker.

Newly sworn-in Members of Parliament (MPs) cast their votes for the three crucial positions during the first sitting of the seventh Parliament on 14 June, which took place at the Cape Town International Convention Centre.

President-elect of South Africa: Cyril Ramaphosa (ANC)

President-elect of the seventh administration Cyril Ramaphosa

A total of 339 ballot papers were counted, with 12 spoilt ballots. The uMkhonto we Sizwe (MK) Party, which received 58 seats in Parliament in the elections, did not partake in the vote by boycotting the sitting.

Ramaphosa received 283 votes, against the Economic Freedom Fighter’s (EFF’s) president Julius Malema, who received 44 votes

The ANC and 124 non-ANC MPs, including those part of the DA, Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Patriotic Alliance (PA), and other parties set to form part of the Government of National Unity, would have voted together in support of Ramaphosa.

The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF), United Democratic Movement (UDM), African Transformation Movement (ATM), Al Jama-ah, United Africans Trasformation (UAT) and Pan Africanist Congress (PAC) have in response formed a self-titled ‘progressive caucus,’ which voted and nominated opposing MPs within the caucus together.

ANC chief whip Mdumiseni Ntuli nominated the incumbent Ramaphosa, while IFP leader Velenkosini Hlabisa seconded the nomination. 

UDM MP Nqabayomzi Kwankwa, in response, nominated Malema, with ATM president Vuyolwethu Zungula seconding it.

Because more than one person was nominated, the vote took place via secret ballot.

Speaker of the National Assembly: Thoko Didiza (ANC)

Newly-elected National Assembly Speaker Thoko Didiza. Photo: GCIS

A total of 341 ballot papers were cast by MPs, with eight of these spoiled.

Didiza received 284 votes, while the EFF’s Veronica Mente received 49.

Former ANC chief whip and MP Pemmy Majodina nominated the former Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development minister for head of the legislative arm, which was seconded by fellow ANC MP Supra Mahumapelo.

The parties affiliated with the GNU, including the ANC, DA, IFP, PA and more, would have voted for Didiza.

ATM president Zungula then nominated Mente for speaker, which was seconded by UDM president Bantu Holomisa.

The opposing ‘progressive caucus’ consisting of the EFF, UDM, ATM, and others would have voted for Mente.

Because there was more than one person nominated, the vote ultimately took place via secret ballot.

Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly: Annelie Lotriet (DA)

Newly-elected Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Annelie Lotriet. Photo: Jaco Marais/Gallo Images

338 MP votes were counted, with 11 ballots spoilt.

Lotriet received 273 votes, while ATM’s Zungula got 54.

DA MP Siviwe Gwarube nominated Lotriet for the legislative arm’s Deputy Speaker, with fellow party MP Desiree van der Walt seconding the nomination.

EFF MP Floyd Shivambu nominated ATM leader Zungula as deputy speaker, which was seconded by the UAT’s Wonder Mahlatsi.

Voting for the Deputy Speaker would have happened along mostly the same party lines as the voting of President and Speaker.

Because there was more than one person nominated, this vote also ultimately took place via secret ballot took place.

Read: DA officially joins the ANC in forming new government

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter