Leadership changes at EOH

 ·22 Feb 2024

Andrew Mthembu will take over as interim CEO of EOH until a permanent replacement for Stephen van Coller is found.

Van Coller will leave the group as CEO on 31 March 2024, and the group’s board and remuneration and
Nomination Committee have resolved to appoint Mthembu (currently the independent non-executive chairman of the Board) as executive chairman with effect from 1 April 2024.

He will assume the role and responsibilities of the CEO for six months or until a new CEO is appointed, following which he will return to his role as independent non-executive chairman of EOH.

“Andrew Mthembu possesses the necessary skills and experience to assume the role of executive chairman, ensuring continuity and stability during this interim period,” the group said.

“His familiarity with EOH’s operations and stakeholders will be complemented by support from the chief executive officers of the company’s operational business units, namely Marius de la Rey (iOCO South Africa), Brian Harding (International) and Fatima Newman (EasyHQ).”

De la Ray, Harding and Newman have all recently signed long-term contracts.

Andrew Marshall (currently an independent non-executive director of the Board) has also been appointed as lead independent non-executive director with effect from 1 April 2024 to support Mthembu.

“The lead independent non-executive director will provide essential checks and balances, safeguarding effective governance at the board level, thereby ensuring that the Board continues to operate effectively, discharges its responsibilities objectively and remains a custodian of good corporate governance.”

The group also announced that Marialet Greeff, who was appointed as interim CFO in November 2023, has been given the position on a permanent basis with immediate effect.

Read: Godongwana’s R150 billion dip into forex reserves – what it means for South Africa

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter