Kganyago staying at the SARB for five more years

 ·15 Mar 2024

President Cyril Ramaphosa has reappointed South African Reserve Bank Governor Lesetja Kganyago for another five-year term.

Deputy Governors Fundi Tshazibana and Rashad Cassim will also retain their roles for the next five years, while Dr Mampho Modise will replace the departed Kuben Naidoo, who left in November 2023, as the third Deputy Governor.

Kganyago’s new term will commence on 9 November 2024 and conclude on 8 November 2029. He was initially appointed Governor on 9 November 2014 and was reappointed exactly five years later.

Prior to joining the SARB, he was the Director-General of the National Treasury from 2004 to 2011.

Tshazibana, currently the CEO of the Prudential Authority, and Cassim’s second terms will commence on 1 August 2024 and conclude on 31 July 2029.

Modise, who has a PhD in economics, will serve her first five-year term from 1 April 2024 to 31 March 2029.

She rejoins the SARB from National Treasury, where she was the Deputy Director-General of Public Finance, responsible for fiscal and financing monitoring and the evaluation of policy proposals across national departments. 

Read: South Africans will soon know exactly what to expect from Eskom

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter