Who was fired and who was re-hired in Zuma’s cabinet reshuffle

South Africans are still reeling from a late-night cabinet reshuffle by president Jacob Zuma, which saw the axe fall on heads of vital departments in government.

Zuma announced changes to 10 departments, reshuffling five ministers to different portfolios, while removing an additional five from cabinet altogether.

Among those reshuffled are former sports minister Fikile Mbalula, who is now the minister of Police, and Malusi Gigaba, who moves from home affairs to treasury.

Gigaba’s predecessor, Pravin Gordhan, has been removed from cabinet, along with former energy minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson, and former transport minister, Dipuo Peters.

Senior officials have expressed confusion over the fact that communications minister Faith Muthambi, who was recommended to be dismissed by Parliament, as well as social development minister Bathabile Dlamini, who recently orchestrated a massive crisis in South Africa’s social grants system, were spared to continue serving in cabinet.

Here are the changes, with axed ministers highlighted in red, and reshuffled ministers in green.

Department New Minister Old Minister
Minister of Energy Mmamoloko Kubay Tina Joemat-Pettersson
Minister of Transport Joe Maswanganyi Dipuo Peters
Minister of Finance Malusi Gigaba Pravin Gordhan
Minister of Police Fikile Mbalula Nathi Nhleko
Minister of Public Works Nathi Nhleko Thulas Nxesi
Minister of Sports and Recreation Thulas Nxesi Fikile Mbalula
Minister of Tourism Tokozile Xasa Derek Hanekom
Minister of Public Service and Administration Faith Muthambi Ngoako Ramatlhodi
Minister of Home Affairs Hlengiwe Mkhize Malusi Gigaba
Minister of Communications Ayanda Dlodlo Faith Muthambi

Read: ANC was informed, not consulted over Cabinet reshuffle: Mantashe

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Who was fired and who was re-hired in Zuma’s cabinet reshuffle