South Africa to get an ‘extra’ public holiday this year

South Africa will have 13 public holidays in 2020, including an additional day off to celebrate National Women’s Day on 9 August.

Monday (10 August 2020) becomes an additional public holiday in terms of the Public Holidays Act.

South Africans also scored an day off  in May last year, to vote in the national elections.

Employees are also likely to take advantage of the long weekends – with Freedom Day (27 April)  and Workers’ Day (1 May) set to fall on a Monday and Friday respectively.

The public holidays for 2020 are as follows according to official government proclamation:

  • 1 January: New Year’s Day
  • 21 March: Human Rights Day
  • 10 April: Good Friday
  • 13 April: Family Day
  • 27 April: Freedom Day
  • 1 May: Workers’ Day
  • 16 June: Youth Day
  • 9 August: National Women’s Day
  • 10 August: Public holiday
  • 24 September: Heritage Day
  • 16 December: Day of Reconciliation
  • 25 December: Christmas Day
  • 26 December: Day of Goodwill

The dates on which Good Friday and Easter Sunday fall are determined according to the ecclesiastical moon. That varies each year but they fall at some point between late March and late April.

Consecutive public holidays can have a significant impact on working arrangements and shifts, especially in workplaces that run a 24/7/365 operation. And while, a ‘day off’ can impact economic productivity, it can help stave off fatigue-related issues.

Read: South Africa’s new paternity leave laws are here – this is what you need to know

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

South Africa to get an ‘extra’ public holiday this year