Carrim heads to Parliament’s finance committee

Four axed Cabinet ministers will chair portfolio committees in the new Parliament, the African National Congress revealed on Thursday.

Paul Mashatile has been nominated to chair the standing committee on appropriations after being dropped from President Jacob Zuma’s Cabinet.

Mashatile served as arts and culture minister from 2010 to 2014, a portfolio now occupied by Nathi Mthethwa.

Former communications minister Yunus Carrim was nominated chairman of Parliament’s finance committee.

Carrim, an MP since 1994, served as chairman of various committees before his Cabinet appointment, including the justice committee which saw to the demise of the Scorpions in 2008.

Connie September, who served less than a year as human settlements minister before being axed from Zuma’s Cabinet, will chair the state security committee.

Ben Martins, also in his 20th year as an ANC MP in Parliament, returns as public works committee chairman.

Before being dropped from Zuma’s Cabinet, Martins served as home affairs committee chairman, deputy public enterprises minister, transport minister and energy minister — a post he held since July last year before also being dropped from the new Cabinet.

Another former minister in ex-president Thabo Mbeki’s Cabinet, Thoko Didiza, is expected to become a house chairwoman.

The full list of MPs named on Thursday are:

  • Agriculture, forestry and fisheries: Rosina Semenya;
  • Arts and culture: Xoliswa Tom;
  • Basic education: Nomalungelo Gina;
  • Communications: Joyce Moloi-Moropa;
  • Co-operative governance and traditional affairs: Richard Mdakane;
  • Defence and military veterans: Stanley Motimele;
  • Economic development: Busi Coleman;
  • Energy: Fikile Majola;
  • Environmental affairs: Jackson Mthembu;
  • Finance: Yunis Carrim;
  • Health: Lindelwa Dunjwa;
  • Higher education: Yvonne Phosa;
  • Home affairs: Buoang Mashile;
  • Human settlements: Nocawe Nafu;
  • International relations and co-operation: Moses Masango;
  • Justice and correctional services: Mathole Motshekga;
  • Labour: Lumka Yengeni;
  • Mineral resources: Sahlulele Luzipho;
  • Police: Francois Beukman;
  • Public enterprises: Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba;
  • Public service and administration: Peace Mabe;
  • Public works: Ben Martins;
  • Rural development and land reform: Phumzile Mabila;
  • Science and technology: Bevan Goqwana;
  • Small business development: Ruth Bhengu;
  • Social development: Rosemary Capa;
  • Sport and recreation: Beauty Dlulane;
  • State security: Connie September;
  • Telecommunications and postal: Mmamoloko Kubayi;
  • Trade and industry: Joan Fubbs;
  • Transport: Dikeledi Magadzi;
  • Tourism: Beatrice Ngcobo;
  • Water and sanitation: Mlungisi Johnson;
  • Women: Thandi Memela;
  • Standing committee on appropriations: Paul Mashatile;
  • Standing committee on public accounts (Scopa): Themba Godi;
  • Standing committee on auditor general: Vincent Smith;
  • Multi party women’s caucus: Rosalia Morutoa; and
  • Ethics: Amos Masondo;

The nominated chairs will be formally elected once the committees sit for the first time.

The nominations for house chairs are: Cedric Frolick, Thoko Didiza and Mmatlala Boroto.

Didiza will also join Motshekga, Magadzi and Edwin Makue of the National Council of Provinces as members of the Judicial Service Commission (JSC).

Pallo Jordan, Thandi Memela and Litho Suka are the MPs chosen to serve on the Pan African Parliament.

The ANC caucus chairman is Seiso Mahai.

More on Yunus Carrim

Carrim’s Post Office application denied

Carrim unveils SA cyber security council

Carrim must answer for MultiChoice-SABC deal: DA

Carrim on LLU: wait a little bit longer

Latest news

Partner Content

Show comments

Follow us