Carrim unveils SA cyber security council

Minister of Communications, Yunus Carrim, has on Tuesday (15 October 2013) inaugurated the National Cyber Security Advisory Council (NCAC).

“The role of the NCAC will be to advise the government on cyber security policy and technical issues,” the Department of Communications (DoC) said in a statement.

The DoC said that the National Cyber Security Policy Framework in terms of which the NCAC was established, was passed by Cabinet in March 2012.

According to Carrim, the policy framework “seeks to coordinate government’s activities on cyber-security and also ensure more effective cooperation between government, the private sector and civil society in tackling cyber-security threats”.

“With the increasing number and sophistication of cyber security threats, including online scams, data theft, and other threats, the role of the NCAC has become more important than ever,” the minister said.

He added that that cyber-security is a shared government responsibility and that several relevant departments would also be consulted regarding the advice given by the NCAC.

The NCAC members include:

  • Chairperson: Dr. Barend Taute,
  • Deputy Chairperson Ms Ritasha Jethva,
  • Mr Sizwe Snail,
  • Mr. Collen Weapond,
  • Mr Mark Heyink,
  • Prof Tana Pistorius, and
  • Dr Khomotso Kganyago.

More on cyber security in South Africa

Massive fast food payments security breach in SA

“Let’s just get things done”: Carrim

Western Cape hacker in court

MTN victim of suspected NSA hack

Must Read

Partner Content

Show comments

Trending Now

Follow Us

Carrim unveils SA cyber security council