Ramaphosa approves salary hikes for ministers, MPs and premiers

 ·6 Jun 2024

The office of the Presidency has gazetted the approved salary hikes for ministers, deputy ministers, members of parliament and other legislators in South Africa.

The salaries will kick in retroactively from 1 April 2024, and reflect a 2.5% increase—well below inflation.

According to the presidency, the total annual package includes the following elements:

  • A basic salary component equal to 60% of the total, which constitutes the pensionable salary.
  • R120,000 per annum, included in the basic salary, which equates to a monthly allowance of R10,000, which is not included in the income and, therefore, does not reflect on the IRP 5 certificate.
  • An employer’s pension benefit contribution equal to 22.5% of pensionable salary.
  • A flexible portion for the remaining amount of the total.

These elements apply to all the salaries listed below.

Despite arguably low increases, South Africa’s cabinet ministers and parliamentarians are still bona fide millionaires.

Salary hikes for Cabinet ministers are viewed as particularly egregious, as these millionaires also enjoy an entire spread of tax-free benefits and perks, all paid for by the South African taxpayer.

This includes vehicles, homes and billions of rands spent on private VIP security – all while many of their portfolios crumble or perform poorly.

South Africa’s millionaire ministers are now even wealthier, with the president granting them an increase to R2.69 million a year, from R2.64 million before.

The salaries of deputy ministers will increase to R2.22 million (from R2.16 million), and those of the deputy president will climb to R3.16 million.

While much of the ire is directed at executive members, members of the National Assembly—which include all represented parties—will also see their already over R1 million salaries hiked further.

Speaker of the National Assembly earns on par with the deputy president at R3.16 million, and the same goes for the chairperson of the National Council of Provinces.

Ordinary members of parliament now earn R1.27 million a year (same for permanent delegated of the NCOP).

Opposition party leaders and their whips also benefit greatly.

Leader of the main opposition—which is once again John Steenhuisen of the DA—will see his salary bumped up to R1.75 million, while all other minority leaders—such as the EFF’s Julius Malema—will see their salaries hiked to R1.47 million.

Chief whips will also see their salaries jump to R1.75 million, R1.47 million and R1.37 million for majority party, largest minority party and minority party whips, respectively.

Notably, the makeup of parliament has shifted significantly after the 2024 elections, with the ANC collectively losing out on R90 million in salaries after losing 71 seats in the National Assembly.

The MK Party, meanwhile, is debuting with R70 million in salaries thanks to its 58 seats won in the election.

The full salary hikes can be seen below:

Deputy president, ministers and deputy ministers 2024/25

Position (Pay level 1, effective from 1 April)2023/242024/25
Deputy PresidentR3 087 467R3 164 654
MinisterR2 624 329R2 689 937
Deputy MinisterR2 161 190R2 215 220

Members of the National Assembly and NCOP 2022/23

Position (Pay level 1-2, effective from 1 April)2023/242024/25
Speaker: NAR3 078 467R3 164 654
Chair: NCOPR3 078 467R3 164 654
Deputy Speaker: NAR2 161 190R2 215 220
Deputy Speaker: NCOPR2 161 190R2 215 220
House ChairR2 057 045R2 108 472
Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 748 874R1 792 595
Chief Whip: NCOPR1 748 874R1 792 595
Parliamentary Counsellor: PresidentR1 748 874R1 792 595
Parliamentary Counsellor: Deputy PresidentR1 748 874R1 792 595
Leader of OppositionR1 748 874R1 792 595
Committee ChairR1 634 452R1 675 314
Deputy Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 471 064R1 507 841
Chief Whip: Largest Minority PartyR1 471 064R1 507 841
Leader of Minority PartyR1 471 064R1 507 841
WhipR1 365 074R1 399 201
Member of National AssemblyR1 243 450R1 274 536
Permanent Delegate of the NCOPR1 243 450R1 274 536

Premiers, MECs and Members of Provincial Legislatures

Position (Pay level 1-3, effective from 1 April)2023/242024/25
PremierR2 470 010R2 531 760
Member of Executive CouncilR2 161 190R2 215 220
SpeakerR2 161 190R2 215 220
Deputy SpeakerR1 748 874R1 792 595
Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 634 452R1 675 314
Committee ChairR1 471 067R1 507 844
Leader of OppositionR1 471 067R1 507 844
Deputy Committee ChairR1 384 012R1 418 612
Deputy Chief Whip: Majority PartyR1 384 012R1 418 612
Chief Whip: Largest Minority PartyR1 384 012R1 418 612
Leader of Minority PartyR1 384 012R1 418 612
Parliamentary Counsellor to King/QueenR1 243 450R1 274 536
WhipR1 243 450R1 274 536
Member of Provincial LegislatureR1 203 473R1 233 560

Read: All the big changes to National Assembly and Provincial Legislatures in South Africa

Show comments
Subscribe to our daily newsletter